RICHMOND, Ky. – Two Eastern Kentucky University softball players were named to the All-Ohio Valley Conference team the league announced Tuesday morning – first baseman Christina Ciolek and pitcher Leanna Pittsenbarger. Meanwhile, shortstop Krislyn Campos earned a spot on the all-newcomer squad.

This is the second time in the past three years that at least two Colonels have come away with first team all-league accolades.

Ciolek entered her senior season as a career .238 hitter. However, the native of Richmond, Kentucky, stepped up to lead EKU in just about every major offensive category – batting average (.335), hits (52), runs (24), doubles (nine), RBIs (28) and on-base percentage (.383). Ciolek put together a team-best 13-game hitting streak midway through the season and also homered in three consecutive games in February.

Pittsenbarger is the first Eastern Kentucky pitcher to notch first team All-OVC honors since 2004. The righty from Urbana, Ohio, ranks among the top-10 pitchers nationally in ERA (1.22 – 10th), shutouts (11 – 4th), strikeouts (282 – 4th) and hits allowed per seven innings (3.07 – 2nd). Pittsenbarger has set a new EKU single-season strikeout record (282), surpassing the old mark of 273 set by EKU Athletics Hall of Famer Jonelle Csora in 2002. The junior also tossed her second career no-hitter on April 1 in 5-0 win over East Tennessee State.

Campos, a true freshman from Las Vegas, Nevada, has been a steady performer all year long at shortstop. Campos has made just three errors in 131 chances for a .977 fielding percentage. The newcomer ranks second on the team in hits (42) and third in batting average (.276). One of Campos’ two homers was the game-winner in a 2-1 nine-inning victory at Eastern Illinois on April 5.

The Colonels (28-21, 15-10 OVC) are the No. 5 seed in the upcoming OVC tournament at Jacksonville State. EKU opens play against Murray State (30-22, 16-9) on Wednesday at 4 p.m. ET.


2014 All-Ohio Valley Conference Softball Teams
P – Leanna Pittsenbarger (Eastern Kentucky) – Jr., Urbana, Ohio
P – Tiffany Harbin (Jacksonville State) – Sr., Hazel Green, Ala.
C – Savannah Sloan (Jacksonville State) – Jr., Reynolds, Ga.
IF – Sara Borders (Jacksonville State) – Jr., Alexandria, Ala.
IF – Christina Ciolek (Eastern Kentucky) – Sr., Richmond, Ky.
IF – Reynae Hutchinson (Eastern Illinois) – Sr., Mattoon, Ill.
IF – Amanda Maldonado (Jacksonville State) – Sr., Tucson, Ariz.
OF – Mo Ramsey (Murray State) – Jr., Pinckneyville, Ill.
OF – Kat Hollingsworth (Belmont) – Jr., Carrollton, Texas
OF – Ella Denes (Jacksonville State) – So., Pisgah, Ala.
OF – Jennette Isaac (Eastern Illinois) – So., Salem, Ore.
UTIL/DP – Lauren de Castro (Austin Peay) – Sr., Torrance, Calif.
UTIL/DP – Savannah Carpenter (Southeast Missouri) – So., Newbury Park, Calif.
(13 appear on the fi rst team due to ties)
2014 OVC PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Sara Borders, Jacksonville State
2014 OVC PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Tiffany Harbin, Jacksonville State
2014 OVC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Carly Gonzales, UT Martin
2014 OVC COACH OF THE YEAR: Jana McGinnis, Jacksonville State
P – Haley Chambers (SIUE) – So., Coatesville, Ind.
P – Stephanie Maday (Eastern Illinois) – Sr., Elk Grove Village, Ill.
P – Hanna Mennenga (Eastern Illinois) – Sr., Gifford, Ill.
C – Hannah Cole (Eastern Illinois) – Jr., Windsor, Ill.
IF – Shelbey Miller (Murray State) – So., Goreville, Ill.
IF – Chelsea Yankolovich (SIUE) – Sr., Phoenix, Ariz.
IF – Kendall Hooper (Tennessee Tech) – Sr., Hermitage, Tenn.
IF – Allison Smiley (SIUE) – Fr., Johnson City, Ill.
OF – Angi Sakamoto (Tennessee Tech) – Jr., Waipahu, Hawaii
OF – Carly Gonzales (UT Martin) – Fr., Anaheim, Calif.
OF – Whitney Lanphier (SIUE) – Fr., Plainfi eld, Ill.
UTIL/DP – Taylor Sloan (Jacksonville State) – Fr., Warrior, Ala.
Taylor Sloan (Jacksonville State) – DP , Fr., Warrior, Ala.
Logan Green (Jacksonville State) – P, Fr., Hebron, Md.
Krislyn Campos (Eastern Kentucky) – IF, Fr., Las Vegas, Nev.
Carly Gonzales (UT Martin) – OF, Fr. Anaheim, Calif.
Allison Smiley (SIUE) – IF, Fr. Johnson City, Ill.
Jessica Twaddle (Murray State) – UT/DP, Fr., Franklin, Tenn.
Danielle Liberatore (Tennessee Tech) – P, Fr., Peotone, Ill.
Haylee Krack (Southeast Missouri) – IF, Jr., Moline, Ill.
Mason Robinson (Murray State) – P, Fr., Lewis Center, Ohio
Whitney Lanphier (SIUE) – OF, Fr., Plainfi eld, Ill.
Melanie Steer (Jacksonville State) – OF, Jr., Scarborough, Ontario
Stephanie Lewis (Jacksonville State) – OF, Fr., Fort Meade, Fla.