Three EKU Football Players Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Apr 30, 2014 | Football


RICHMOND, Ky. – Three former Eastern Kentucky University football players – Jordan Berry, Tyler Horn and Ichiro Vance – were named to the 2014 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, as announced by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) Tuesday afternoon.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include: being a starter or a significant substitute in one’s last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university; achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.

Berry was a four-year starter at punter for the Colonels. This past season, the Australian was part of a punting unit that ranked first in the OVC and sixth nationally (FCS) in net punting at 39.08 yards per punt.

Horn was one of just five players to start every game for EKU this past fall. The linebacker piled up a career-high 11 tackles against Coastal Carolina on Sept. 14. Horn finished with 54 total tackles in 2013 which ranked second on the team.

Vance, a three-year starter at middle linebacker, picked up All-OVC honors for a third straight season after recording 52 tackles as a senior.

A total of 838 players from 267 schools qualified for membership in the society’s eighth year, marking the highest school participation in the history of the program, which began in 2007.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF’s current National Scholar-Athlete program greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization’s leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs nationwide. The initiative has honored 4,927 student-athletes since its inception, and the program has experienced growth every year in either members or school participation since its launch in 2007.

Eastern Kentucky begins the 2014 fall season with a Thursday night road game at Robert Morris on Aug. 28.


Latest news from the Maroon Nation

Colonels Collect Three ASUN Individual Awards

Colonels Collect Three ASUN Individual Awards

RICHMOND, Ky. – Eastern Kentucky's Davion Ross and Patrick Nations, along with head coach Walt Wells, took home three of the five individual league awards announced by the ASUN on Wednesday. Ross was named the ASUN Defensive Player of the Year while Nations was...

Colonels earn ASUN Football weekly honors

Colonels earn ASUN Football weekly honors

Colonels capture three of the ASUN Football weekly honors RICHMOND, Ky. – Eastern Kentucky sophomore defensive back Davion Ross was named as the ASUN Defensive Player of the Week, while junior punter Phillip Richards earned Special Teams Player of the Week honors and...