Shaffer, Iacono Earn All-OVC Soccer Honors

Apr 14, 2021 | Featured, Soccer

Shaffer, Iacono

Shaffer was named first team All-OVC for the second consecutive season, while Iacono earned second team All-OVC honors.

BRENTWOOD, Tenn. – Eastern Kentucky University soccer players Katie Shaffer and Michaela Iacono have been voted to All-Ohio Valley Conference teams, the league announced on Wednesday.

Shaffer was named first team All-OVC for the second consecutive season, while Iacono earned second team All-OVC honors.

Shaffer is now one of only four players in program history to earn first team All-OVC honors twice in a career.

The senior center back started every game for the Colonels this spring. She rarely left the field, playing a team-high 924 minutes.

Shaffer’s defensive leadership helped EKU record three shutouts – a 2-0 win over rival Morehead State on March 12, a 2-0 road win at Eastern Illinois on March 23, and a 1-0 victory over defending OVC Tournament champion Belmont on March 30.

The Monroe, Ohio native came forward to score two goals and record an assist this season. She scored in the season opener against SIUE on March 2 and had an assist to sophomore Rylie Jucker three days later at Murray State. On Senior Day at EKU Soccer Field, Shaffer headed in the game-winning goal to defeat previously unbeaten Southeast Missouri, 2-1.

Shaffer was voted OVC Defensive Player of the Week twice during the spring.

Iacono tied for the OVC lead with three game-winning goals this spring. The sophomore scored off a beautiful free kick in the 37th minute to beat rival Morehead State on March 12. She scored in the eighth minute to lead the Colonels a road victory at Eastern Illinois on March 23. Her PK goal in the 27th minute helped lift Eastern to a 1-0 win over Belmont on March 30.

Iacono also ranked in the top-10 in the OVC in assists (three) and points (nine).

The Aurora, Ontario native played in all 10 games this season and started nine of them. She ranked third on the team in shots (22) and second in shots on goal (12).

Iacono is the 16th Colonel all-time to be named second team All-OVC.

All-OVC First Team
D – Maria Castaldo, So., UT Martin
D – Katie Shaffer, Sr., Eastern Kentucky
D – Izzy Heckman, Sr., Murray State
MF – Lauren Welker, Jr., Southeast Missouri
MF – Alicia Pallister, Sr., Jacksonville State
MF – Gabriel Clarke, So., Jacksonville State
F – Mackenzie Litzsinger, Jr., SIUE
F – Chloe Barnthouse, Fr., Murray State
F – Emely van der Vliet, Fr., UT Martin
F – Julie Garst, Sr., Belmont
GK – Isabell Austin, Sr., Tennessee Tech

All-OVC Second Team
D – Saraya Young, So., Murray State
D – Rachel Vernon, Jr., Belmont
D – Selma Askildsen, Fr., Tennessee Tech
MF – Lauren Payne, So., Murray State
MF – Itxaso Aguero, Sr, Eastern Illinois
MF – Emma Brune, Fr., Southeast Missouri
MF – Meredith Nye, Fr., Tennessee Tech
F – Lily Schnieders, So., SIUE
F – Mica Iacono, R-So., Eastern Kentucky
F – Cynthia Bagozzi, So., Jacksonville State
GK – Erica Myers, Sr., UT Martin

All-Newcomer Team
Emely van der Vliet, F, Fr., UT Martin
Chloe Barnthouse, F, Fr., Murray State
Ida Cederberg, F, Fr., Jacksonville State
Emma Brune, MF, Fr., Southeast Missouri
Meredith Nye, MF, Fr., Tennessee Tech
Tori Case, MF, Fr., Austin Peay
Audrey Henry, D, Fr., Murray State
Jenna Villacres, GK, R-Fr., Murray State
Matea Diekema, D, Fr., SIUE
Anna Sweeney, F, Fr., Belmont
Selma Askildsen, D, Fr., Tennessee Tech

Defender of the Year: Izzy Heckman, Murray State
Midfielder of the Year: Alicia Pallister, Jacksonville State
Forward of the Year: MacKenzie Litzsinger, SIUE
Goalkeeper of the Year: Isabell Austin, Tennessee Tech
Freshman of the Year: Emely van der Vliet, UT Martin
Coach of the Year: Matt Lodge, Murray State

Latest news from the Maroon Nation

Colonels Collect Three ASUN Individual Awards

Colonels Collect Three ASUN Individual Awards

RICHMOND, Ky. – Eastern Kentucky's Davion Ross and Patrick Nations, along with head coach Walt Wells, took home three of the five individual league awards announced by the ASUN on Wednesday. Ross was named the ASUN Defensive Player of the Year while Nations was...