Eastern Kentucky University junior running back Dy’Shawn Mobley was one of 11 OVC players named to the Sports Network All-America Team. Mobley was a third team selection.
In his first season at Eastern Kentucky after transferring from Kentucky, Mobley, a finalist for the Walter Payton award, guided the Colonels to an at-large berth in the FCS Playoffs. He rushed for 20 touchdowns (sixth-most nationally) and 1,491 yards (12th nationally) while also ranking sixth nationally in scoring (9.7 points/game), 14th nationally in rushing yards/game (114.7) and 22nd in all-purpose yards (138.5/game).
During the year he tied the OVC record with six total touchdowns (5 rushing, 1 receiving) against Murray State in a game he had 324 all-purpose yards (the sixth-highest total by a FCS player this season). Mobley had eight 100-yard rushing games during the season and scored multiple rushing touchdowns in five games. His 20 rushing touchdowns were the third-most in OVC single-season history while his 126 points were the fourth-most in OVC history.
Players from the OVC who made first-team selections included Jacksonville State senior center Max Holcombe, Eastern Illinois senior offensive lineman Collin Seibert and Murray State junior kick returner Pokey Harris. The second-team choices were Eastern Illinois senior wide receiver Adam Drake, UT Martin senior linebacker Tony Bell, Tennessee State senior defensive back De’Ante Saunders and Tennessee Tech junior punt returner Ladarius Vanlier. Along with Mobley, the third-team selections included Southeast Missouri sophomore kicker Ryan McCrum, Jacksonville State junior defensive lineman Devaunte Sigler and Jacksonville State junior defensive back Jermaine Hough.