Colonel running back Dy’Shawn Mobley has been added to the Walter Payton watch list for this season.

Mobley transferred in from the University of Kentucky earlier this year and has lifted the Colonels from a .500 season in 2013 to Ohio Valley Conference title contention this season. They are ranked No. 16 nationally with an 8-1 record. A big power back, Mobley has seven 100-yard games to lead the OVC in rushing yards (1,061), rushing yards per game (117.9) and touchdowns (14). He ranks ninth in the FCS in rushing yards.

Other players on the Walter Payton Award Watch List are quarterbacks Vernon Adams Jr. of Eastern Washington, Bryan Bennett of Southeastern Louisiana, Jacob Huesman of Chattanooga, Michael Nebrich of Fordham, Dakota Prukop of Montana State, John Robertson of Villanova, Alex Ross of Coastal Carolina and Justin Arias Sr. of Idaho State; running backs Marshaun Coprich of Illinois State, Malcolm Cyrus of Alabama State, Khairi Dickson of Saint Francis (Pa.), Rob Hollomon of Central Connecticut State, DaMarcus James of Jacksonville State, David Johnson of Northern Iowa, Gus Johnson of Stephen F. Austin, Tyler Varga of Yale, Herb Walker Jr. of Morgan State, Zach Zenner of South Dakota State, Chase Edmonds Fr. of Fordham and Connor Kascor Sr. of Dayton; wide receivers Kenny Cook of Gardner-Webb, R.J. Harris of New Hampshire and Cooper Kupp of Eastern Washington; and tight end MyCole Pruitt of Southern Illinois.

Ballots for the Walter Payton Award Watch List will be sent to a national panel of over 150 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries following the regular season. The top three vote- getters will be invited to the national awards banquet to be held on December 15. The Sports Network established the Walter Payton Player of the Year Award in 1987, and it is presented annually to the most outstanding college football player on the FCS level. The winner is chosen by a nationwide panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries from the division.