BRENTWOOD, Tenn. – Eastern Kentucky University distance runner Ambrose Maritim has been voted the Ohio Valley Conference Co-Male Track and Field Freshman of the Year, the league office announced on Thursday.

Maritim posted the third-fastest 3,000 meters time in the conference (8:18.35) at the Rod McCravy Memorial on Jan. 24. He also ranks eighth in the OVC in the 5,000 meters (15:09.64) and 21st in the mile (4:20.21).

The native of Eldoret, Kenya is the fifth Colonel to earn OVC Male Freshman of the Year honor since 2005, joining Jacob Korir (2005), Shannon Davis (2008), Soufiane Bouchikhi (2010) and Mads Taersboel (2013).

Maritim – who will share Freshman of the Year honors with Southeast Missouri’s Chris Martin – was an All-Southeast Region performer during the cross country season and a key member of the EKU men’s team that ran at the NCAA Championships for the third consecutive year.

Maritim and the rest of the EKU track and field team will compete at the OVC Indoor Championships this weekend in Nashville.

2014 Indoor Track and Field Athletes of the Year
Male Track Athlete of the Year: Calvin Edwards, Eastern Illinois
Female Track Athlete of the Year: Hannah Wittman, Belmont
Male Field Athlete of the Year: Kevin Farley, Southeast Missouri
Female Field Athlete of the Year: Jatavia Wright, SIUE
Co-Male Freshman of the Year: Ambrose Maritim, Eastern Kentucky; Chris Martin, Southeast Missouri
Female Freshman of the Year: Amber Hughes, Tennessee State