Henson Award

The Lou Henson award is given to the nation’s top mid-major player

BOSTON – Eastern Kentucky University men’s basketball player Nick Mayo has been named to the 2018-19 Lou Henson Award Watch List for the third consecutive season. This award is presented to the nation’s top mid-major player in Division-I College Basketball.

So far this season, Mayo is averaging 24.7 points and 9.1 rebounds-per-game. He is shooting 94.5 percent (52-of-55) from the free throw line.

In the Colonels’ matchup at No. 6 Tennessee on Wednesday, Mayo scored 23 points, collected nine rebounds, and was a perfect 10-of-10 from the charity stripe.

The Oakland, Maine native is also steadily climbing the EKU all-time scoring list. He currently ranks third, behind Mike Rose (1,763) and the all-time scoring leader Matt Witt (1,832).

Mayo is one of only three Ohio Valley Conference players on the Lou Henson Award Watch List, joining Murray State guard Ja Morant and Belmont forward Dylan Windler.

Mayo and the Colonels will travel to High Point University to take on the Tubby Smith-led Panthers on Saturday. Tipoff is set for 2:00 p.m.



Kyle Allman 6-3 Sr. Cal State Fullerton
Francis Alonso 6-3 Sr. UNC Greensboro
Jordan Barnes 5-11 Jr. Indiana State
Gary Blackston 6-2 Sr. Prairie View A&M
Shannon Bogues 6-2 Sr. Stephen F. Austin
Jarrell Brantley 6-7 Sr. Charleston
Keith Braxton 6-4 Jr. Saint Francis PA
A.J. Brodeur 6-8 Jr. Penn
Tookie Brown 5-11 Sr. Georgia Southern
Devontae Cacok 6-7 Sr. UNCW
Chris Clemons 5-9 Sr. Campbell
Clayton Custer 6-1 Sr. Loyola Chicago
Mike Daum 6-9 Sr. South Dakota State
James Dickey 6-10 Jr. UNC Greensboro
Jordan Ford 6-1 Jr. Saint Mary’s
Jakeenan Gant 6-8 Sr. Louisiana
Tyler Hall 6-5 Sr. Montana State
Jerrick Harding 6-1 Jr. Weber State
Jeremy Harris 6-7 Sr. Buffalo
Cameron Jackson 6-8 Sr. Wofford
Nathan Knight 6-10 Jr. William & Mary
John Konchar 6-5 Sr. Fort Wayne
Cameron Krutwig 6-9 So. Loyola Chicago
Anthony Lamb 6-6 Jr. Vermont
Loudon Love 6-9 So. Wright State
Fletcher Magee 6-4 Sr. Wofford
C.J. Massinburg 6-3 Sr. Buffalo
Garrison Matthews 6-5 Sr. Lipscomb
Nick Mayo 6-9 Sr. Eastern Kentucky
Drew McDonald 6-8 Sr. Northern Kentucky
Matt Mooney 6-3 Sr. South Dakota
Ja Morant 6-3 So. Murray State
Matt Morgan 6-2 Sr. Cornell
Nick Perkins 6-8 Sr. Buffalo
Ed Polite Jr. 6-5 Sr. Radford
Vasa Pusica 6-5 Sr. Northeastern
Matt Rafferty 6-8 Sr. Furman
Isaiah Reese 6-5 Jr. Canisius
Grant Riller 6-4 Jr. Charleston
Ahmaad Rorie 6-1 Sr. Montana
Jaelan Sanford 6-4 Sr. Toledo
T.J. Shorts 5-9 Sr. UC Davis
James Thompson IV 6-10 Sr. Eastern Michigan
Seth Towns 6-7 Jr. Harvard
D’Marcus Simonds 6-3 Jr. Georgia State
Jordan Varnado 6-6 Sr. Troy
Dylan Windler 6-7 Sr. Belmont
Justin Wright-Foreman 6-1 Sr. Hofstra
Milik Yarbrough 6-6 Sr. Illinois State
Akwasi Yeboah 6-6 Jr. Stony Brook