Dean Hood Named a Finalist For The Eddie Robinson Award

Nov 20, 2014 | Football


PHILADELPHIA, Pa. – Eastern Kentucky University head football coach Dean Hood was selected as one of 20 finalists for the Eddie Robinson Award Thursday afternoon. The award, presented annually by The Sports Network, is given to the top coach in the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision (FCS).

In his seventh season at Eastern Kentucky, Hood has guided the Colonels to a 9-2 overall record and 6-2 mark in OVC action. The nine overall wins are the most for Hood in his tenure with the program. The team started the season 6-0, which was the program’s best start since 1990. One of those wins came against FBS opponent Miami (Ohio), giving EKU its first win over a FBS team since 1985.

Eastern currently ranks second nationally in turnovers gained (30) and turned those turnovers into 112 points. EKU is ranked No. 14 in this week’s Sports Network top-25 poll.

Hood was also a finalist for the Robinson Award in 2008, finishing 18th in the balloting.

A national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries select the Robinson Award, now in its 28th year. The winner will be announced Dec. 15 at The Sports Network FCS Awards Banquet and Presentation.

The OVC has had two previous Eddie Robinson Award winners – Murray State’s Houston Nutt in 1995 and Southeast Missouri’s Tony Samuel in 2010.

The Colonels wrap up the regular season this Saturday, Nov. 22 with their first-ever visit to Florida. The game will be televised by the SEC Network beginning at noon.

2014 Eddie Robinson Award Finalists
Beau Baldwin, Eastern Washington (Big Sky Conference)
Rod Broadway, North Carolina A&T (Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference)
Clint Conque, Stephen F. Austin (Southland Conference)
Marty Fine, Bryant (Northeast Conference)
Broderick Fobbs, Grambling State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)
John Grass, Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley Conference)
Dean Hood, Eastern Kentucky (Ohio Valley Conference)
Russ Huesman, Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
Chris Klieman, North Dakota State (Missouri Valley Football Conference)
Mike Kramer, Idaho State (Big Sky Conference)
Dale Lindsey, San Diego (Pioneer Football League)
Sean McDonnell, New Hampshire (CAA Football)
Joe Moglia, Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)
Tim Murphy, Harvard (Ivy League)
Tony Reno, Yale (Ivy League)
Mike Sanford, Indiana State (Missouri Valley Football Conference)
Brock Spack, Illinois State (Missouri Valley Football Conference)
Mark Speir, Western Carolina (Southern Conference)
Joe Susan, Bucknell (Patriot League)
Everett Withers, James Madison (CAA Football)

Latest news from the Maroon Nation

Colonels Collect Three ASUN Individual Awards

Colonels Collect Three ASUN Individual Awards

RICHMOND, Ky. – Eastern Kentucky's Davion Ross and Patrick Nations, along with head coach Walt Wells, took home three of the five individual league awards announced by the ASUN on Wednesday. Ross was named the ASUN Defensive Player of the Year while Nations was...

Colonels earn ASUN Football weekly honors

Colonels earn ASUN Football weekly honors

Colonels capture three of the ASUN Football weekly honors RICHMOND, Ky. – Eastern Kentucky sophomore defensive back Davion Ross was named as the ASUN Defensive Player of the Week, while junior punter Phillip Richards earned Special Teams Player of the Week honors and...