Archive | August, 2015

Sunbelt passes on the Colonels

Sunbelt passes on the Colonels

Posted on 31 August 2015 by admin

The Maroon Nation has learned that the Sunbelt Conference will not offer Eastern Kentucky University an invite to join the conference. Sunbelt conference members met Sunday in Dallas to vote on expansion. The Colonels were up for a vote along with Coastal Carolina of the Big South Conference and New Mexico State. New Mexico State currently is a football member only in the Sunbelt Conference. Sources say that President Benson got the call last night from the conference informing him of the conference’s decision. Several twitter reports are pointing to Coastal Carolina getting the invite.

Comments (0)

Mobley named to the FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy Watch List

Mobley named to the FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy Watch List

Posted on 20 August 2015 by admin


Eastern Kentucky senior running back Dy’Shawn Mobley was one of three Ohio Valley Conference football players named to the 2015 FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy Watch List by the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA).

The other two OVC players were Eastern Illinois senior quarterback Jalen Whitlow and Jacksonville State junior quarterback Eli Jenkins.

Mobley, the OVC Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, was the OVC Offensive Player of the Year and a finalist for the Walter Payton award a season ago. In his first year with Eastern Kentucky he rushed for 20 touchdowns (sixth-most nationally) and 1,491 yards (12th nationally) while also ranking sixth nationally in scoring (9.7 points/game), 14th nationally in rushing yards/game (114.7) and 22nd in all-purpose yards (138.5/game). During the year he tied the OVC record with six total touchdowns (5 rushing, 1 receiving) against Murray State in a game he had 324 all-purpose yards (the sixth-highest total by a FCS player that season). Mobley had eight 100-yard rushing games during the 2014 season and scored multiple rushing touchdowns in five games. His 20 rushing touchdowns were the third-most in OVC single-season history while his 126 points were the fourth-most in OVC history.

Whitlow earned second team All-Ohio Valley Conference honors last season after transferring from the University of Kentucky. He appeared in 11 games at quarterback making ten starts. He missed the final regular season game due to injury. He ranked 27th in the FCS in total offense as he rushed for 792 yards and passed for 2,075 yards. He had 12 rushing touchdowns as he set the single season and single game school records for rushing yards by a quarterback. He was 185-of-294 with 15 touchdowns including a season high 312 yards passing against Murray State. He set the school record for consecutive passes without an interception with 163.

Jenkins was a first-team All-OVC pick a year ago after throwing for 1,870 yards and 12 touchdowns and running for 698 yards and sic scores. He started all 12 games for JSU as a sophomore, completing over 58 percent of his passes (127-for-222). In his two seasons as the starting quarterback he has guided the Gamecocks to a 17-3 record including a berth in the FCS Quarterfinals two years ago.

The goal of the CFPA is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

The 2015 FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy is a 22-inch K-9 optic crystal trophy with 8-inch crystal football on top. All FCS players are eligible for the award. The award winner will be announced January 13, 2016.
2015 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy Watch List
John Gibbs Jr. (QB), Alcorn State
Chris Brown (QB), Cal Poly
Austin Brown (QB), Charleston Southern
Jacob Huesman (QB), Chattanooga
De’Angelo Henderson (RB), Coastal Carolina
Alex Ross (QB), Coastal Carolina
Dalyn Williams (QB), Dartmouth
Jalen Whitlow (QB), Eastern Illinois
Dy’Shawn Mobley (RB), Eastern Kentucky
Chase Edmonds (RB), Fordham
Xavier Finney (RB), Idaho State
Marshaun Coprich (RB), Illinois State
Tre Roberson (QB), Illinois State
Eli Jenkins (QB), Jacksonville State
Vad Lee (QB), James Madison
Josh Woodrum (QB), Liberty
Daniel Sams (QB), McNeese
John Russ (QB), Mercer
Dakota Prukop (QB), Montana State
Herb Walker Jr. (RB), Morgan State
Sean Goldrich (QB), New Hampshire
Tarik Cohen (RB), North Carolina A&T
Carson Wentz (QB), North Dakota State
Sawyer Kollmorgen (QB), Northern Iowa
Khairi Dickson (RB), Saint Francis U
Jared Johnson (QB), Sam Houston State
Mark Iannotti (QB), Southern Illinois
John Robertson (QB), Villanova
Troy Mitchell (QB), Western Carolina
Trenton Norvell (QB), Western Illinois
Morgan Roberts (QB), Yale
Hunter Wells (QB), Youngstown State

Comments (0)

Advertise Here
Advertise Here

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 962 other subscribers